The Council

(Reconstituted for the Quadrennium 2022-2025)


Clause 9.1(a)Nominees of the Government of India3
1Shri. Krish S. Gopalakrishnan
Co-Founder, Infosys
Chairman, Axilor Ventures Pvt. Ltd.
739, 15 Cross road, K.R Layout
JP Nagar, 6th Phase
Bangalore 560078
2Dr. G. Satheesh Reddy
DRDO New Delhi
DRDO Bhawan, Rajaji Marg,
New Delhi 110011
3Shri. K Sanjay Murthy
Dept of Higher Education
Ministry of Education
Govt. of India,127-C, Shastri Bhawan, New Delhi 110001
Clause 9.1(b)Nominees of Government of Karnataka2
4Shri. G Kumar Naik,
Additional Chief Secretary to Govt.
Higher Education Department
Govt. of Karnataka
6th Floor, M S Building, BANGALORE 560 001
5Shri. I.S.N. Prasad
Additional Chief Secretary, Finance Dept.,
Govt. of Karnataka, BANGALORE 560 001
Clause 9.1(c)Nominees of the Tata Trusts2
6Nomination awaited
7Nomination awaited
Clause 9.1(d)Representative of UGC1
8Prof. Avinash C. Pandey
(Former VC, Bundelkhand University, Jhansi)
Director, Inter- University Accelerator Centre
New Delhi- 110 067
Clause 9.1(e)Representative of Parliament3
(Lok Sabha-2)
9Shri. P.C. Mohan
Hon’ble Member of Parliament (LS)
1928, 30th Cross, 12th Main, Near G.K. Kalyana Mantapa,
Banashankari 2nd Stage, Bengaluru - 560 070
10Shri L.S. Tejasvi Surya
Hon’ble Member of Parliament (LS)
No. 381, 1st A Main Road, Near Vivekananda Park,
Girinagar, 1st Phase, Bengaluru-560085
(Rajya Sabha-1)
11Shri. K C Ramamurthy
No.143/3, CMR colony, 1st Block
Hennur Bansavadi Layout, Kalyan Nagar

(His term in Rajya Sabha is up to 30.06.2022)
Clause 9.1(f)Representative of the Court of IISc.:2
12. Vacant
13. Vacant
Clause 9.1(g)Representatives of the Association of Indian Universities2
Eastern Region:
14Prof. G D Sharma
Vice Chancellor
University of Science & Technology Meghalaya
Techno City, 9th Mile, Kling Road, Baridua
Ri- Bhoi District, (Meghalaya) 793 101
Western Region:
15Prof. (Dr) Navin Sheth
Vice Chancellor
Gujarat Technological University
Near Vishwakarma Govt. Engg. College
Nr Visat three Roads, Visat – Gandhinagar
Highway, Chandkheda
Ahmedabad Gujarat 382 424
Clause 9.1(h)Representative of the A I C T E1
16. Prof. Anil D. Sahasrabudhe
Chairman, The All India Council for Technical Education,
Nelson Mandela Marg, Vasant Kunj
NEW DELHI – 110 067
Clause 9.1(i)Representative of the C S I R1
17Dr. Rajan Sankaranarayanan
Scientist ‘G’
Centre for Cellular & Molecular Biology
Council of Scientific and Industrial Research
Ministry of Scientific & Technology, Govt of India.
Habsiguda, Uppal Road
Telangana 500 007
Clause 9.1(j)Director (ex-officio)1
18. Prof. Govindan Rangarajan

Govindan Rangarajan obtained his PhD from the University of Maryland, College Park, USA. He then worked at the Lawrence Berkeley Lab, University of California, Berkeley before returning to India in 1992. He is currently a Professor of Mathematics in Indian Institute of Science. His research interests include nonlinear dynamics and chaos, time series analysis and computational neuroscience. He is a J. C. Bose National Fellow, a Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Sciences, India. He was knighted by the Government of France: Knight (Chevalier) of the Order of Palms. He was also a Homi Bhabha Fellow.

Clause 9.1(k)Associate Director (ex-officio)1
19. Vacant
Clause 9.1(l)Deans of Faculties (ex-officio)2
20. Prof. Umesh Varshney (Science Faculty)

Umesh Varshney obtained his PhD from the University of Calgary, Canada in 1985, and then continued there as an AHFMR fellow. He moved to MIT in 1988 and then joined IISc in 1991. He is currently a J N Tata Chair Professor. He teaches molecular biology and studies protein synthesis and DNA repair in eubacteria. He is a fellow of INSA (New Delhi), IAS (Bangalore), NAS, India (Allahabad), and The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS), and a recipient of JC Bose Fellowship and various other awards including SS Bhatnagar Prize and G. N. Ramachandran Gold Medal for Excellence in Biological Sciences & Technology. 

21. Prof. Vinod Sharma(Engg.Faculty)

Vinod Sharma  received his B.Tech. in EE in 1978 from Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi, India and Ph.D. in ECE from Carnegie Mellon University in 1984. He worked at Northeastern University, Boston and University of California in Los Angeles before joining Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore in 1988, where currently he is a TATACHEM chair professor. He won Prof. Rustom Choksi award for excellence in research in 2017 and ACCS-CDAC award in 2012. He is an elected fellow of Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE). His research interests are in communication networks, wireless communications and Information theory.

Clause 16.2Registrar (Ex-officio) - Secretary1
22. Capt. Sridhar Warrier (Retd.)