Analysis and Probability Research Group

Website :
Email :

The idea for an Analysis and Probability Research Group (APRG) was conceived in 2008 in Bengaluru. 2008 was a thematic year dedicated to analysis and its applications, and in which probability played an essential part. Several workshops and lecture series were held in 2008 with support from the Indian Institute of Science and the National Mathematics Initiative. Since then, various members have been active in organising similar events; and eventually have formally assembled together into the Analysis and Probability Research Group.

The city of Bangalore is perhaps the topmost national destination for both Analysis and Probability. The APRG, with strong research collaborations across the world, aims to build on this presence and attract experts to visit, collaborate, and contribute in making Bangalore a premier international destination for analysis and probability.

Members of APRG:


  1. Prof. Gautam Bharali, Maths
  2. Prof. Tirthankar Bhattacharyya, Maths
  3. Dr. Apoorva Khare, Maths
  4. Prof. Gadadhar Misra (Convener), Maths
  5. Prof. E.K. Narayanan, Maths
  6. Prof. S. Thangavelu, Maths
  7. Prof. Kaushal Verma, Maths

Applied Analysis

  1. Dr. Ved V. Datar, Maths
  2. Prof. Thirupathi Gudi, Maths
  3. Prof. A.K. Nandakumaran, Maths
  4. Dr. Vamsi P. Pingali, Maths


  1. Dr. Arvind Ayyer, Maths
  2. Prof. Shalabh Bhatnagar, CSA
  3. Prof. Mrinal K. Ghosh, Maths
  4. Prof. Srikanth K. Iyer, Maths
  5. Prof. Manjunath Krishnapur, Maths
  6. Dr. Sanchayan Sen, Maths

Applied Probability

  1. Dr. Siddharth Barman, CSA
  2. Prof. Chiranjib Bhattacharyya, CSA
  3.  Prof. Ambedkar Dukkipati, CSA
  4. Dr. Aditya Gopalan, ECE
  5. Prof. Navin Kashyap, ECE
  6. Dr. Anand Louis, CSA
  7. Prof. Rahul Pandit, Physics
  8. Dr. Parimal Parag, ECE
  9. Prof. Sriram Ramaswamy, Physics
  10. Prof. Govindan Rangarajan, Maths
  11. Prof. P.S. Sastry, EE
  12. Dr. Himanshu Tyagi, ECE
  13. Prof. Rajesh Sundaresan, ECE