The Court

Reconstituted for the Quadrennium 2018-2021

Natarajan Chandrasekaran
President of the Court

Natarajan Chandrasekaran is the chairman of Tata Sons.[1][2][3] Chandrasekaran took over as the CEO of Tata Consultancy Services (TCS) on November 6, 2009 prior to which he was COO and executive director of TCS.[4] Born in 1963, Chandrasekaran is one of the youngest CEOs within the Tata Group.[5] In January 2017, he was selected to become the next chairman of Tata Sons. He assumed chairmanship on 21 February 2017[6][7][8][9] and soon after was announced the chairman of Tata Motors.[10] on July 3, he was appointed as chairman of Tata Global Beverages.[11] He is the first non Parsi and professional executive to head the Tata Group.

Mr. S.N. Agarwal
Chairman, Bhoruka Power Corporation Ltd.,


Prof. Anurag Kumar
Director, IISc
Anurag Kumar is a professor in the Department of Electrical Communication Engineering, and is currently the Director of the Indian Institute of Science Bangalore, India. He is a renowned researcher in the areas of stochastic modelling, analysis, optimization and control problems arising in communication networks, computers and distributed systems. He coordinated the project ERNET for networking the major education and research institutions in India.

Prof. P. Rama Rao
Former Vice-Chancellor, Univ. of Hyderabad



Mr. R.K. Krishna Kumar
Director, Tata Sons Ltd, Mumbai
Mr. Krishnakumar Rayaroth Kuttambally, also known as KK, served as the Member of Group Corporate Centre at Tata Sons Limited. He serves as a Senior Member of Tata Administrative Service. He served as the Managing Director of Indian Hotels Co., Ltd. from August 29, 1997 to July 18, 2003. Mr. Kumar is associated with the tea industry for over 40 years. He joined Tata Administrative Service in 1963. Mr. Kumar was initially posted in Tata Industries, after which he moved to other group companies. He joined Tata-Finlay and from then on, involved with the Tata Group’s tea and coffee businesses. Mr. Kumar moved to Kolkata as Joint Managing Director of Tata Tea, in 1988 and served as its Managing Director from May 1991 to January 1998. He served as the Chairman of Tata Realty and Infrastructure Limited and Asian Coffee, Piem Hotels Limited, Ewart Investments Company Limited, The Tetley Group Ltd. Mr. Kumar served as a Director of Rallis India, Speech and Software Technologies (I) Pvt. Ltd., E2E Serwiz Solutions Limited., Tata Tea Inc. USA, Tata Tetley, Tata Tea GB Limited, St. James Court Hotel Limited, Taj International (HK) Limited, Piem International (HK) Ltd. and Estate Management Services (Pvt.) Ltd. He serves as a Director of Give Foundation. Mr. Kumar also serves as a Director of Rnt Associates Private Limited. He served as the Chairman of Tata Housing Development Company Limited. He served as Chairman of the Board and Director at Indian Resorts Hotels Limited until May 18, 2006, Oriental Hotels Limited until July 2013 and Tata Coffee Limited until July 26, 2013. Mr. Kumar served as Vice Chairman of Taj Hotels Resorts and Palaces of The Tata Group. Mr. Kumar served as Vice Chairman of The Indian Hotels Company Limited from July 19, 2003 to July 18, 2013. He served as Vice Chairman of Tata Global Beverages Limited (formerly Tata Tea Ltd.) from 1997 to July 18, 2013. Mr. Kumar served as a Non-Executive Director of Tata Global Beverages Limited since May 5, 1987. He served as a Director of Tata Coffee Ltd. since January 10, 1991 until July 26, 2013 and Oriental Hotels Limited since September 21, 1997 until July 18, 2013. Mr. Kumar served as a Director of Watawala Plantations Plc until July 18, 2013. He served as a Director of Tata Sons Limited and Tata Industries Limited until July 2013. Mr. Kumar served as a Non Executive Non Independent Director of Tata Global Beverages Limited from May 5, 1987 to July 18, 2013. He served as a Director of TAJGVK Hotels & Resorts Limited until October 24, 2006. Mr. Kumar has nearly 40 years experience in management at Tata Group. Mr. Kumar received


Shri. V. Rajarajan
Registrar, IISc





ANilSahasrabudheProf. Anil D. Sahasrabudhe
Chairman, The All India Council for Technical Education, New Delhi
Anil Sahasrabudhe did his Bachelor of Engineering from Karnataka University securing the first rank and a Gold medal, followed by a Master’s and a doctorate from the Indian Institute of Science Bengaluru. He worked in Tata Consulting Engineers, and was a faculty member in the North Eastern Regional Institute of Science and Technology, and IIT, Guwahati holding several administrative positions such as HoD, Dean and Deputy Director. He then joined the College of Engineering, Pune as its Director turning around the college before assuming the charge of Chairman, All India Council for Technical Education.

Dr. Girish Sahni
Director General,
Council of Scientific & Industrial Res.
New Delhi



Dr. Manjula N
Commissioner, Office of the Commissioner,
Dept. of Collegiate Education
2nd Floor, DTE Building,  Palace Road,
BANGALORE – 560 001

Shri. Pankaj R Patel
President, FICCI & Chairman & Managing Director
Cadila Healthcare Ltd., Zydus Tower
Satellite Cross Roads, AHMEDABAD – 380 015

Mr. Vijay Padate
Director General,
The Employers Federation of India,
1703, World Trade Centre-I, Cuffe Parade,
Mumbai-400 005.

Prof. M.K. Bhan
former Secretary, Dept. of Biotechnology,
Govt. of India,  Min.of Science and Technology

Dr. M.P. Ravindra
President, IISc. Alumni Association
IISc Campus, Bengaluru – 560 012



Professors and Associate Professors, IISc (Ex-officio)

Members of the Council who are not otherwise represented on the Court (Ex-officio)