Dipshikha Chakravortty got elected as Council member in INSA.

The Indian National Science Academy (INSA) was established in January 1935 with the object of promoting science in India and harnessing scientific knowledge for the cause of humanity and national welfare. The academy was earlier known as the National Institute of Sciences of India (NISI), was the results of upshots of several organizations, many individuals and also the Indian Science Congress Association (ISCA). Earlier, INSA was National Institute of Science of India which was established its Head quarter at Calcutta and later moved to New Delhi. The Indian National Academy is the apex body of the Indian scientists from all branches of science & technology. The main objectives of INSA is the promotion of science in India including its application to national welfare, safeguarding the interests of the scientists, establishing linkages with international bodies to foster collaboration and expressing considered opinion on national issues. Sir Lewis Fermor was the founder President in 1935 and Prof. Meghnad Saha was elected as the first Indian President in 1937. In October 1945, the then Govt. Of India recognized the institute as the premier scientific society of India, representing all branches of science. After India attained independence, Shri Jawaharlal Nehru, the first Prime Minister, laid the foundation stone of the building on 19th April 1948 in New Delhi. It was designated as the adhering organization in India to the International Council for Science (ICSU) now, known as International Science Council (ISC) on behalf of the Government of India in January 1968.At present INSA has about 1100 elected fellows from India and abroad.

The Council, highest decision making body, is comprised of 31 members; a President, 6 Vice-Presidents; and 20 other elected members. There are four additional members representing: National Academy of Sciences, India; The Indian Science Congress Association; the Asiatic Society and Govt. of India, Dept. of Science and Technology. Prof. Dipshikha Chakravortty, MCB, IISc got selected to this prestigious body and her effort and help will be taken in every aspect of functionality of INSA. Her term will start from January 1st, 2024.

Professor Dipshikha Chakravortty- INSA Letter