Three IISc faculty members win APJ Abdul Kalam HPC Awards

The following faculty members have received the Dr APJ Abdul Kalam HPC Awards High Performance Computing (HPC) awards for the year 2021.

  1. Prof Manish Jain (Physics) – Researcher in R&D in HPC Applications, for first-principles high-performance computing applications to understand and predict material properties.
  2. Dr Arkaprava Basu (CSA) – Young Researcher in R&D in HPC Systems, for his contributions in lowering data access overheads on various computational platforms.
  3. Dr. Tanmoy Das (Physics) – Young Researcher in R&D in HPC Applications, for his seminal contributions to the computational condensed matter physics in developing ab-initio tools for quantum phases of matter

The awards are meant to recognise outstanding contributions in the field of High-Performance Computing in India. This is an annual event entering its fifth year in 2021. The awards are offered to researchers who use High Performance Computing for their research work and produce outstanding results.

The awards are given in four categories: 1) R&D in HPC applications 2) R&D in HPC Systems (Hardware and Software) 3) HPC Education and 4) Efficient HPC facility design and management for Young Scientist and Scientist categories.

Named after former President, renowned scientist and Bharat Ratna Dr APJ Abdul Kalam and brought together by Hewlett Packard Enterprise, this is a prestigious HPC Industry award given through open nominations and decided by an illustrious panel of jury members.

More details at: